top of page
lotus yoga therapy

Yoga Therapy :  Hata Yoga

The 5 principles

1. Breathing (Pranayama)

Yoga teaches how to use the lungs to their maximum capacity and how to control the breath. Proper breathing should be deep, slow and rhythmical. This increases vitality and mental clarity.


2. Exercises (Asanas)

The Yogic physical exercises are called Asanas, a term which means steady pose. Yoga exercises focus on the health of the spine, its strength and flexibility, as to increase circulation  and  ensures supply of nutrients and oxygen to the nerves.

3. Relaxation (Savasana)

Relaxation is essential for physical and mental health. Yoga teaches 3 relaxation levels : physical, mental and spiritual. 

4. Positive thinking and meditation (Dhyana)

We become what we think. A positive outlook on life can be developed by learning and practicing positive thinking. The mind will be brought under control by regular practice of meditation. 

5. Diet (Vegetarian)

We are what we eat. Besides being responsible for building our physical body, the food we eat profoundly affect our mind. For maximum body-mind efficiency and complete spiritual awareness, Yoga advocates a lacto-vegetarian diet. This is an integral part of the Yogic lifestyle.



bottom of page